Just In
Community
Forum
V
More
Forums » On the Edge »
Present or Past Tense?!?!?!?!
Aurora Lights

Ok, so I've been writing for a few years now, but sort of just started getting serious about it and stuff. So I'm not too sure I have enough experience to decide this for myself quite yet. Here's the deal: I want to write a multiple chapter fic. Plain and simple. I have two one shots posted already, and I've really been wanting to try one of these recently.

My biggest problem with writing these is that I can never really stick to only one tense. When I'm writing, I get so into it sometimes that I'll accidentally switch back and forth between the two, whichever one feels right at the time, I guess. It makes sense to me, but I'm afraid others won't quite feel the same about it. And besides that, I myself can read it perfectly fine and all, but it still annoys me when I notice my sporadic and seemingly random choice of tense. And that's the main issue here, I can't choose between the two.

So, if anyone is willing to help me out, I'd be really grateful to you if you'd read my little excerpts below and give me your own opinion. I'm actually 'Recycling', or 'Refurbishing', this story that I started some years ago and adding to it. (I randomly found it hidden away in Google Docs and fell in love all over again....)

Well, anyway.... It's about.... Don't laugh.... Mermaids.... Correction, MerMEN, to be more specific. *Sigh* And I'll say it now, it's yaoi, slash, mxm, boyxboy, shonen ai, or whatever you want to call it. But I want as many opinions as possible, so I'm gonna only put the very beginning up, because there's no mention of romance at all in it, okay? So then, here it is, tell me what you think, please!!!!

Past Tense:

It was a hot summer day. The sun rose high in the sky, illuminating the water in and around the lagoon. A group of boys and girls splashed around with each other in the water, carefully avoiding the dangerous creatures that swam lower on the sea bed.